alexwh
1 min readMay 27, 2016

--

Microsoft’s Pressure to Upgrade

Photograph — Alex Waterhouse-Hayward

I am a happy man with my Windows 7 PC. I am a photographer and writer and my Photoshop 5 works just fine with both my film (Epson Perfection Scanner) and my digital cameras. I have Thunderbird and Firefox. I am a happy camper. But sometimes I leave my computer on during the day or at night.

I returned home tonight and to my horror my computer was upgrading Windows (it said 26%). Nothing I did would shut it off. So I unplugged the computer. This time I was told my computer was restoring my original Windows.

For the last year I keep getting offensive messages to upgrade. How can one stop what to me amounts to blackmail? I got rid of my iPhone 3G (recently!) because I got tired of having to connect to my PC to do anything with it. To download photographs I had to latch on to iTunes. Both Apple and Microsoft seem to be high handed and offensive. Can anybody do anything? Perhaps buy an abacus and spruce up my Remington typewriter?

--

--

alexwh

Into Bunny Watson. I am a Vancouver-based magazine photographer/writer. I have a popular daily blog which can be found at:http://t.co/yf6BbOIQ alexwh@telus.net